top of page

A Day of Revisions


Today I:

-deactivated my Facebook account.

-stripped the blue from my hair, recolored it something natural, and cut off 6".

-began varnishing some of my artwork.

What do these three things have in common?

I have the bad habits of 1. wasting time, 2. not wanting to be an adult, and 3. refusing to finish what I start. What I did today are all starting points on my journey to revise those habits.

Every journey has to start somewhere. Sometimes it's easy to start, sometimes it's hard. Right now, I feel liberated from all the hate and negativity in Facebook. I'm sure I'll be missing the funny jokes and the family pictures soon enough. But there's always a cost when it comes to change.

And the hair color thing...no one told me how hard it is to get blue out of your hair! Well, I didn't ask, but still. When they say permanent, they mean until it grows out or you spend the day putting all kinds of weird concoctions on your hair!

As for the varnishing, I'm bad about not being happy about a piece and continuing to mess with it until it's ruined then having to redo it. That's true of many of my projects. So, again, one step forward in trying to finish what I start.

Today I felt something I haven't felt in some time: accomplishment. I didn't do much except try to change for the better. Maybe that's something I need to remember in the future. I can't change the world but I can change myself.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page